Sanctuary (1999)

Sanctuary - Claire Holley

Track Listing

  1. In the Bounty of the Lord
  2. Fly Away Old Bird
  3. Come Thou Fount
  4. What a Friend We Have In Jesus
  5. Higher Ground
  6. Now the Green Blade Riseth
  7. Once in Royal David’s City
  8. Joy to the World
  9. Man of Sorrows
  10. Jacob’s Ladder
  11. In the Bounty (Reprise)


A visionary collection of traditional hymns and gospel songs set to Claire’s own arrangements. Co-produced by John Plymale, Sanctuary’s earthy instrumentation — mandolin, dobro, upright bass — blends distinctively with Claire’s soulful voice.

“…frankly put, Sanctuary is a beautiful recording…” — ESP Review, Greensboro, NC

“This is an excellent project for any fan of acoustic based music.” — True Tunes Reviews

“Holley’s arrangements give the CD a serene, illuminating quality.” — Greensboro News & Record

“Claire’s Sanctuary certainly strikes a chord with the listeners on ‘Back Porch Music.’ Every time we play ‘Bounty of the Lord’ or ‘Come Thou Fount’ the phones ring and ring. We liked it so much we included a track on our Best of Back Porch Music CD!” — Keith Weston, WUNC 91.5 Chapel Hill, NC